As of September 1, 2021 SB8, otherwise known as the Heartbeat Bill, went into effect in Texas. The Heartbeat Bill states that once a fetal heartbeat is detected, an abortion may not be performed, unless you have a life-threatening medical condition.
Additionally, according to the Guttmacher Institute, in Texas the following are additional abortion regulations as of May 1st, 2018:
- Women must receive counsel informing her about the abortion procedure and the risks involved.
- A woman must undergo an ultrasound at least 24 hours before obtaining an abortion; the provider must show and describe the image to the woman.
- There is a mandatory waiting period of 24 hours after the sonogram and counselling before the abortion can be performed.
- Private insurance policies and health plans offered in the state’s health exchange under the Affordable Care Act cover abortion only in cases of life endangerment or if the woman’s health is severely compromised.
- Medication abortion must be provided using the FDA protocol. The use of telemedicine to administer medication abortion is prohibited.
- The parent of a minor must consent and be notified before an abortion is provided.
Are you pregnant? Unsure of what to do next? Confused and looking for clarity? Come to Prestonwood Pregnancy Center for safe and respectful guidance on your next steps. We are centered on you! To book an appointment click here.